Florida Homestead Exemptions Benefits & How to Qualify

February 1, 2024by Brian Walsh

A “homestead” is a taxation regime designed to incentivize Florida taxpayers to occupy and improve the real estate they use as their personal residence, at their own expense and risk. Think of it this way — privately-owned homes are infrastructure that the government doesn’t have to improve and maintain itself because the homeowners take on that burden. 

Just as the government wants private real estate developers to take on the risk and burden of property improvement, the government is more than willing to offer certain tax breaks and benefits to residents who take ownership responsibility for their primary personal residence.

Who Qualifies for
the "Homestead Exemption?”

Not all owners and not all residences qualify for a homestead exemption. Only your primary residence can be declared a homestead. You can’t claim homestead benefits on a vacation home, secondary residence, or investment property.

However, you must be a resident of Florida as of January 1st of the year you apply for the exemption. And you must have submitted your application by March 1st of that same year.

How Do You Declare
Your Home a “Homestead?”

To declare your primary residence a homestead, you must either appear in person at your county’s appraisal office and fill out Form DR-501, the application for a tax exemption or you can e-file and mail the application.

You will need to bring copies of your:

  • Deed or tax bill with your name on it
  • Automobile Registration
  • Voter Registration
  • Social Security Number

Once the homestead exemption is granted it will automatically renew each year.

Keep in mind that if you no longer qualify, change of ownership, residence,  or is rented for more than 30 days a year, you will no longer qualify for the homestead exemption. If you no longer qualify and you fail to notify the county, the county will impose fines, penalties and a tax lien will be placed on the property.

What Are The Benefits Of
The Homestead Exemption in Florida?

Florida actually offers more benefits to homesteaders than many Floridians realize. Let’s dive deep into the Florida homestead exemption so we understand all the advantages it confers.

Property Tax Exemption

The benefit that most Floridians are most familiar with is the right to use “homestead” classification to reduce your real estate taxes. 

Florida homeowners are allowed to exempt the first $25,000 of assessed value from real estate taxation, and another $25,000 on assessed value from $50,000 to $75,000, for a total potential exemption of $50,000. Since most Florida homeowners reside in homes valued higher than $75,000 (the statewide average is $389k), nearly every Florida homesteader qualifies for the full $50,000 exemption. 

For example, a home that would otherwise have an assessed value of $500,000 would have a taxable value of $450,000 if the owner obtains homestead classification for the property. 

At a millage rate of 1.5%, $50,000 in exemptions translates to about $750 in property taxes that you don’t have to pay.

Reassessment Cap

The property tax savings don’t stop at that $50,000 assessment exemption, though. Your county appraiser’s office re-appraises all the property under their jurisdiction every year. If they deduce that your property has appreciated in value, they will assign it a higher assessed value. The fact that your home has appreciated on paper may be exciting, but slim comfort as you see more and more of your IRL cash go to property taxes.

Homesteads enjoy some degree of insulation from these upward reassessments. A Florida county is only allowed to increase the assessed value of a homestead a maximum of 3%, or the percentage change in the Urban Consumer Index … whichever is lower. 

If you find yourself fortunate enough to catch a wave of increasing property values, you won’t have to absorb stratospheric increases in property taxes. For example, if your home appreciated in value 6%, its assessment can only be increased 3%, maximum. 

If your reassessment is higher, you have legitimate grounds to protest the assessment — those limits are required by law.

Protection From Conveyance

Homestead designation also protects spouses whose names are not on the deed or mortgage from their spouse conveying the property without their approval.

Consider a husband and a wife who live in a home that has been in the husband’s family for generations. Let’s say the husband’s name is on the title, but the wife’s name is not on any of the paperwork. They have obtained homestead status on the property for the tax advantages.

Now let’s say the husband decides to try and go behind the wife’s back and sign the house over to his brother, without the approval of his wife. 

He should be able to do that, right? After all, it’s his name on the deed! The wife’s name is nowhere to be found.

Well, he can’t do it if the property is a homestead. As a homestead, both spouses must sign the conveyance paperwork for it to be valid, even if one spouse is not on the deed. The wife can protest the validity of the transfer and get the property titled back into her husband’s name. 

In this way, the homestead regime prevents spouses from sequestering the property from each other.

Protection From Third-Party Creditor Liens

Finally, declaring your property as a homestead makes it exempt from most third-party creditors from attaching liens to the property in an attempt to collect on a debt.

Various creditors have the right to attach liens to real property owned by their debtors if the debtor defaults on terms. If the debtor doesn’t pay up, the creditor can then take the lien to court and obtain a foreclosure judgment, effectively seizing title to the property to recoup the debt.

This is easily done with second homes or investment properties … but if you obtain homestead designation for your primary residence, the creditor can’t obtain a lien. They might be able to come after you in other ways to recoup the debt, but your homestead is off-limits.

There are, of course, exceptions. If you willingly put up your property as collateral for a debt, it creates a lien that will stand up in foreclosure court. Sorry, that includes your mortgage or HELOC! Mechanic’s liens, placed by contractors on property owners who don’t pay as agreed, are also usually valid. And, of course, governmental bodies are allowed to attach your property, so you can’t protect yourself from Federal or county tax liens with a homestead designation. It’s the government; they have the big stick.

Address: 228 Hillcrest St, Orlando, FL 32801 | Phone: (407) 217-9231
Toll Free: (866) 895-3911 | Fax: (407) 550-7444 | Email: info@triumphtitlegroup.com

© 2021 Triumph Title Group – All Rights Reserved | Terms of Service | Privacy Policy